Florida law dictates the conditions for marriage license issuance and the fees that are charged. This fact sheet is prepared by the Clerk of the Courts to help you understand the requirements of the law and to answer questions which are frequently asked.
The information on this page is being provided as a courtesy and is subject to change. It is the responsibility of each individual getting married to check with the Court House for the current Florida Laws regarding marriage.
You need not be a resident of Florida to apply for a marriage license in this state.
Persons 18 years of age and older may apply without parental consent. Persons under 18 years of age may apply with consent of both parents. Consent forms are available from the Clerk.
Exemptions to Age Requirements
A male or female under the age of 18 may apply if they are parents of a child or are expectant parents. They are required to sign an affidavit provided by the Clerk stating their parental status. If pregnant, an application is required along with a letter from a physician verifying the pregnancy.
Persons who were previously married and divorced need to supply the divorce date and state where the divorce occurred.
The fee changes each year (over $100.00) and can be paid in cash, money order, VISA or MasterCard. This is required at the time the application is made. Personal checks cannot be accepted. Fees are nonrefundable. Applications are accepted and processed between 8:00am and 5:00pm, Monday through Friday, except holidays.
A driver’s license, certified copy of a birth certificate, military I.D. card, state issued I.D. card or passport must be presented at the time the application is made. Also, a social security number must be provided.
The Marriage License
The marriage license must be used within 60 days of issuance. After the ceremony, it is the official’s duty to complete the Certificate of Marriage portion on the license then return it to the Clerk within 10 days.
Where to Apply:
- Orange County Courthouse 425 N. Orange Avenue, Rm #355 (407) 836-2067
- Ocoee County Service Building 475 West Story Road (407) 656-3229
- Apopka County Service Building 1111 North Rock Springs, Rd. (407) 889-4176
- Winter Park Courthouse Annex 450 North Lakemont Avenue (407) 671-1116
Applications are accepted and processed between 8:00am and 5:00pm, Monday through Friday, except holidays.
Information may change. Please contact your local courthouse for updates.